[Alternatives] – Movie Review – Doctor Strange (2016)

Alternatives is the tagline to discuss entertainment outside of literature. It may encompass television, movies, games, and music.


Alternatives
Movie Review – Doctor Strange (2016)

Genre: Action, Superhero, Sci-Fi, Fantasy
Duration: 115 Minutes
Directed By: Scott Derrickson

Screenplay By: Jon Spaihts, Scott Derrickson, C. Robert Cargill
Starring: Benedict Cumberbatch, Tilda, Swinton, Rachel McAdams,
Mads Mikkelsen, Chiwetel Ejiofor

A former neurosurgeon embarks on a journey of healing only to be drawn into the world of the mystic arts.

Reaction

I am writing this review as mainly a viewer of Marvel films and am not familiar with the comic counterpart.

I WAS TRIPPING OUT — really great CGI work done and arguably the best out of all of the MCU films to date (?). Maybe, I don’t know.

The actual origin story did feel rushed in development but the actual pacing of events was pretty good. Needlessly to say, the balance between the action, low key humour, and exposition of this reality-bending side of the Marvel Universe was great — and this film was all-around a joyride to watch.

What else can I really say? I went in with zero expectations other than “It’s a Marvel film” and left with “Yes, I just watched a Marvel film”. That’s saying something without saying anything at all.


Casting

I could talk about the role of The Ancient One…but I’m sure you’ve heard enough about it if you’re familiar with Asian representation in Hollywood in any capacity (sparks note version: I still think they should have cast an Asian lead in that role). No disrespect to Swinton though, she did the role well.

Otherwise, I thought Cumberbatch was pretty solid. I’m not his biggest fan — probably more of a neutral fan than anything — but he delivered a palpable performance.


Afterthoughts

Would recommend seeing this in 3D and staying until the end post-credits (unless you want to see it online) then you’re off to the races.

Cheers,
Joey

connect: 
afterthoughtAn // twitter
anotherafterthought // goodreads
picturevomit // instagram

thoughtsandafterthoughts-signature-625x200

10 thoughts on “[Alternatives] – Movie Review – Doctor Strange (2016)”

  1. Agree on every level! It was a visual joy, although at times a bit too much of a cinematic kaleidoscope for me. Unfortunately a lot of people walked out after the first after-credit scene. I guess they still haven’t learned that there is ALWAYS something at the very end of Marvel.

    Like

  2. This movie looks so good, but I’m not a huge superhero movie fan. The main reason I want to watch it is for Benedict Cumberbatch though (hah)…I miss him as Sherlock (which I think finally comes back next year) and it’s been way too long since I’ve seen him. haha.

    Like

      1. Oh, I’ve noticed, don’t worry. If Hollywood doesn’t quickly get its head out of its ass and habitually casts Asian actors for its Asian (not to mention not-specifically-Asian, and presumed-white) roles, and those Asian roles AREN’T racist stereotypes, I suspect the Internet/world at large will explode in rage. Come on, Hollywood, DO BETTER.

        Like

  3. Sad thought: one of my friends didn’t want to watch this movie because they thing Cumberbatch is ugly. :’) His acting is pretty awesome though!

    Anyways yeah, the Ancient One is just smh. Why am I not surprised at Hollywood. BRUHH THE EFFECTS WERE SO TRIPPY. Haha I was all “wickity wack” throughout it all, and I LOVED it. Really did live up to its name of “Strange”

    Like

    1. Well, I mean, Cumberbatch is not your Robbie Amell tier of attractiveness (is that who you liked??)

      I was both displeased but also pleased because Swinton at least played the role well….or maybe I’m just drawn to cardboard looking emotionally void mentors. No, actually, I’m just drawn to the special effects. Damnit.

      Like

Have some thoughts? Leave a comment below!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.