[Awards/Tags] — Harry Potter Book Tag

Awards/Tags is the tagline to store random posts that don’t really belong elsewhere. They may involve tags, awards, challenges, and other book blogging nonsense.

tag_featimg_1038x576px

Awards/Tags
Harry Potter Book Tag

Why do I feel like I’ve previously completed a HP book tag and yet I also haven’t done a HP book tag before…

Thanks for tagging me Amy @ Book Enthral!


Flagrate – a book with an interesting premise/theme but you’d like to rewrite

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. I don’t even want to rewrite it, just give me my money back and we’ll call it even.

Alohamora – the first book in a series that got you hooked

Traditional book with an un-traditional answer (maybe): the book that got me “back back” into reading (which doesn’t really make sense because I wasn’t big on reading until later years of Univ) was Collin’s The Hunger Games. I must be really sadistic or something because the Games remain the main entertainment factor for me. It’s like each year of games was like watching a full season of Survivor. Pretty legit.

Accio: a book you wish you could have right now

A book that came up in my news recently (again) that I’m interested in reading is Kendare Blake’s Three Dark CrownsIt just sounds…fun (but reviews look derpy as of now).

three dark crowns kendare blakeEvery generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins. The last queen standing gets the crown.

If only it was that simple. Katharine is unable to tolerate the weakest poison, and Arsinoe, no matter how hard she tries, can’t make even a weed grow. The two queens have been shamefully faking their powers, taking care to keep each other, the island, and their powerful sister Mirabella none the wiser. But with alliances being formed, betrayals taking shape, and ruthless revenge haunting the queens’ every move, one thing is certain: the last queen standing might not be the strongest…but she may be the darkest.

Avada Kedavra – a killer book

Abercrombie’s Half a King, the first book to his Shattered Sea Trilogy (which is all I’ve read thus far). You’ll know why when you read it.

Confundo: a book you found really confusing

I’m sure most people haven’t read this but if you’ve read any particular Andrew Smith title, maybe you’d know where I’m coming from. The book that confused the fuck out of me was The Alex Crow. It wasn’t confusing per se…it’s just a perplexing-ly demanding book. I didn’t hate it (safe to say I rated it 3.8/5) but it was an amalgam of “what is even happening” + “huh?” + *bangs head on table*

Expecto Patronum – your spirit book

I’m a big sucker for anything that’s elemental magic based and Victoria Schwab’s A Gathering of Shadows fits that Avatar: The Last Airbender bill so well.

Sectumsumpra – a dark and twisted book

Stephen King’s It. BECAUSE FUCK CLOWNS OH MY GOD GET THEM AWAY FROM ME. #COULROPHOBIAFORLIFE (except I can manage Cirque Du Soleil clowns…ish).

We’ll have to re-evaluate our friendship if you really like clowns.

Aparacium – a book that surprised you in a great way; reveals to be more than it is

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (hey-o Ness shout-out quota reached). It is a small book; a children’s book. It’s predictable, has illustrations, and features a talking tree. But it’s some powerful shit right here.


Your Letter To Hogwarts:

Cherry @ Read Forevermore
Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions
Deanna @ A Novel Glimpse
Drew @ Tattooed Book Geek
Geraldine @ Corralling Books
Isabella @ Gryffindor Books
Jacquie @ Rattle the Stars
Jasmine @ Jasmine Pearl Reads
Josie @ Josie’s Book Corner
Kat @ The Impossible Girl
Kevin @ Bookevin
Kyleigh Randall @ Book Babe Reviews
Lindsay @ A Piece of Paradis
Liam @ Liam’s Library
Liam @ Hey Ashers!
Megan @ Pitch Black Sky
Melissa @ In A Bookish World
Raquel @ Raquel Bookish
Summer @ Xing Sings
Thomas @ Intro to Blurb

…and you! (Tagging everyone is difficult)


Afterthoughts:

In other not really exciting news, I [finally?] joined the Bookstagram community (at):

#blamepeerpressure

Cheers,
Joey

connect: afterthoughtAn // twitter  |  anotherafterthought // goodreads

thoughtsandafterthoughts-signature-625x200

9 thoughts on “[Awards/Tags] — Harry Potter Book Tag”

  1. Thanks for the Tag! I also love ADSOM and AGOS, I can’t wait to read the 3rd book. That ending was so cruel. How I am suppose to go on with my life after that?????

    Like

  2. Thanks for the tag. Ugh….yeah I agree about the whole clowns thing. Nope, don’t like them at ALL. Well, really anything dressed up from carnivals or fairs. Haha.

    Like

  3. I’m right there with you on Three Dark Crowns. I haven’t read any of Kendare Blake’s books yet (though Antigoddess has been watching me from my bookshelves these last couple years, oops), but my understanding is that her books are slightly above average in terms of quality. Keeping my fingers crossed that Three Dark Crowns is an improvement; the premise is really neat.

    Thanks for the tag! This’ll be fun. =)

    Like

  4. So cool !! I love seeing people doing this tag 😀 you got the same answer as Lshaan for a Monster Calls WOO 🙌 I always stalked people Septemsempra part to discover dark and twisted book LOL but stephen King It with clowns..sounds way too freaky. -Trang

    Like

  5. Is that what it’s called?? COULROPHOBIA?? and uh I really like clowns so..sorry… we can’t be friends..jk I hate them too =)
    And ugh I need Three Dark Crowns so badly..

    Like

Have some thoughts? Leave a comment below!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.